Stalker’s Haven

The human mind is biologically prone to be interested in the lives of other human beings. To most people, social interaction is imperative, and without it we can come to feel distant, isolated, and depressed. Based off this principle it is easy to conclude why websites such as Facebook, Twitter, and Myspace are nearly instant hits, but still fads none the less.

With social networking sites such as Facebook and Myspace, you can easily stay connected with your friends and family, as well as communicate readily and share video’s and pictures. People can literally become addicted to sites such as this because they become so fascinated by other people’s lives. One can deduce quite a bit of information after spending some time on someone’s page. By reading wall posts, looking at pictures, and other numerous stalking techniques, its quite easy to figure out something such as what your girlfriend did last friday night. Personally, I believe that the somewhat new network named Twitter has taken this fascination with other people’s lives to a whole new level. It’s mind boggling to believe that humans are SO intrigued by what other people are doing, that a website is created so you know what the people you are “following” are doing at that moment. And as a little side note, “following” only makes it sound more creepy, as if I’m over your shoulder every second of the day. Back on track though, Twitter is commonly used on smart phones and 3G wireless phones by people that use the network to readily answer the now famous question, “What’s Happening?”. It almost makes you wonder what’s next. I can reasonably assume that if I were to create a “social networking” site called Birds-eye, if you will, where you could watch a live feed of someone as they carried out their daily tasks, that I would be a millionaire within months of it going on-line.

All in all, the usage of sites such as these is at a new level, and it will likely only become more intense from here. As hypocritical as it may seem, I must admit that I have a facebook tab open currently. And if for some unforeseen incident were to occur where I get that “oops, we’re sorry but Safari closed unexpectedly” messages, not to fear, as soon as I open a new window I can breathe again because its my second home tab that pops up automatically. I stand strongly saying that I will never use Twitter, but I have to say that I could see myself reconsidering if I were to have a blackberry or an iPhone. But as for right now, all you need to know about me is that I just posted a new blog entry at 7:15 p.m. on April 7th, 2010.

Leave a Reply

